Are You Looking Out For Others Or For YourSelf?

Unknown-2

 Are you looking out for others or yourself? This question is very thought-provoking, it caused me to think about my thoughts, deeds and words. In short Do I love thy neighbor as thy self is what this is asking. I’m sure you all know this scripture which is written in the bible multiple times, love thy neighbor as they self. I want to take the time to talk about that and some related scriptures.

 I have heard a few people say to others or about others ” why are they telling me all their problems like I don’t have any of my own” or “I’m tired of people coming to me with their problems I have a life and problems of my own”. Many of them who have said these statements call themselves christians, believers, followers of Christ etc. I wonder do they know how many people they are leading astray by 1. Gossiping and complaining to someone about who came to them with their problems. 2. By turning the person who needs help away because they do not want to hear their problems.

 I think when we say we are a Christian or a follower of Christ most of us do not take that seriously. We all fall short of God’s glory and make mistakes, but how many times are you going to make the same mistake? Once you know what God says in his word you will be held accountable for your actions on judgement day. God’s word clearly says to carry each others burdens, correct your brother or sister gently if you catch them in a sin.

 Galatians 6:1,2 NIV “Brothers and sisters, IF SOMEONE IS CAUGHT IN A SIN, YOU WHO LIVE BY THE SPIRIT SHOULD RESTORE that person GENTLY. But watch yourselves, or you also may be tempted. CARRY EACH OTHERS BURDENS, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.”

 There is value in carrying each others burdens, one is that you fulfill the law of Christ. Another is you are helping someone and possibly yourself. There has been plenty of times where I was able to help someone with their burdens and ended helping myself. I ended up helping myself through their problem because mines was either similar or later on I ended up being face with something similar. I know this happen’s to other people because a friend of mine was telling me about this earlier with her experiences.

 How selfish and self-centered is it to not want to carry someone else’s burdens because you have your own? Do you or do you not go to other’s with your own burdens when you’re in need? I can only imagine how you would feel if you heard someone who you tell your burdens to that they are tired of hearing yours among and everyone else’s problems. I think nowadays there are too many people who PLAY CHRISTIAN instead of being a Christian or a follower of Christ. What I mean by that is you call yourself a Christian and go to church but you’re not following God’s word. You pick and choose what you want to follow from God’s word and compromise on everything else he says.That is not how it works you either follow him completely or not at all.

 Matthew 6:24 NIV “No one can serve two masters. Either you will hate the one and love the other, or you will be devoted to the one and despise the other.”

 So I encourage to be an accountability partner and carry each others burdens and build each other up. Pray for the person, who brings their burdens to you and help them. If you don’t know what to say to help them with their problems, take the time out to pray for them right then and there. Then be honest and tell them you will keep them in your prayers and they should pray to God about it immediately. I leave you with these two Scriptures to meditate on:

1 Thessalonians 5:11 NIV “Therefore encourage one another and build each other up, just as in fact you are doing.” 

Romans 15: 1 NIV “We who are strong ought to bear with the failings of the weak and not to please ourselves

 Side-note: Accountability partner is not just for those who are single and want/need help to abstain from having sexual relations with guys. It can also be use to carry each others burdens. When a friend, fellow believer, new believer, and family member, has problems and they need your help. Do the things that is mention in the above paragraph and listen to them, encourage them, help them, build them up and pray for them. Make sure to keep checking on them as an accountability partner would and make sure they are staying on track.

God Bless

#blogging101

#blogging201

#Chrisitan #christianliving

above picture is from google images

© 2015 Jasmine Samilton

8 Comments

Leave a Reply

