Is It Really Worth It To Repay Evil For Evil?

Unknown

I send scriptures to friends and family via text message each morning or early afternoon depending on when I get up and or what time I am able to have bible study. The other day I sent this verse ” You have heard that it was said, ‘Eye for eye, and tooth for tooth’. But I tell you, do not resist an evil person. If anyone slaps you on the right cheek, turn to them the other cheek also.” – Matthew 5:38:39 NIV. A friend sent me a message saying that they try to live by this but it is hard. That friend felt that “sometimes people deserve retaliation”? I responded that I understand but that is God’s job. This made me think about how I use to be when people did me wrong or hurt me and in my own way I would retaliate or hate them.

I have learned through God’s word the power of forgiveness and to let God retaliate for me. What does it really do to go and repay evil for evil? Yeah we feel good and happy afterwards for a temporary time, but what we put into ourselves is hate along with sin. We also put that out and we get addicted to it in a way until we finally realize that repaying evil for evil just brings about more evil. 1 Peter 3:9 says, ” Do not repay evil for evil or insult for insult. On the contrary, repay evil with blessing, because to this you were called so that you may inherit a blessing.” Just that verse is and should be enough to keep us from repaying evil with evil right?

I mean God tells us plainly and clearly that if we turn the other cheek and repay them with blessing we will get a blessing. Now by no means am I suggesting that you obey God or repay evil with a blessing instead of evil just to get a blessing from God, because that is just not right. However, we should do it because it is the right thing to do. Also, as it says in Proverbs 17:13 ” Evil will never leave the house of one who pays back evil for good.” However, A lot of times repaying evil with a blessing changes that person maybe not exactly right then and there but eventually it does. There has been plenty of people who turned around maybe a few days later or even a year or two later apologized for the evil they have done. That blessing changed their lives and they changed their behavior, love is very powerful. There’s not telling how many times we have sin against God and he has forgiven us. We all should make sure we forgive them and repay them with a blessing.

In Romans 12:17 it says, “Do to repay anyone evil for evil. Be careful to do what is right in the eyes of everyone.” If you are a follower of Christ or a Christian that second part of the above verse is just as important as the first part. As a follower of Christ what we do can lead people to him or away from him. We have to practice what we preach literally not just for our own salvation but for others as well. I think that is where a lot of us go wrong, no one is perfect but we have to be very careful. When judgment day comes we will be judge on our deeds among other things and I know I don’t want Jesus to look at all my deeds and say well you chose to preach this but do this and this led all these people away from me. I don’t know about you but that is a punishment I do not want. I want him to say well done my good and faithful servant. 

So is it really worth it to repay evil for evil?

God Bless You!

#blogging101

#blogging201

This image is not my own it was taken from google images.

Leave a Reply

