There’s a Difference between Judging and Rebuking/Correcting

                                                                   cc3b0e2830aa59f314d852702826c8c9

Romans 2:1-3: NIV  “1)You therefore, have no excuse, you who pass judgment on someone else, for at whatever point you judge another, you are condemning yourself, because you who pass judgment do the same things. 2) Now we know that God’s judgment against those who do such things is based on truth. 3) So when you, a mere human being, pass judgment on them and yet do the same things, do you think you will escape God’s judgment?”

Have you ever thought to take a hard look at yourself every time you judge someone because most times the thing we are judging in them is rooted in ourselves but we ignore it or make excuses for it. Why is that? Why do we judge people? Now its ok to gently rebuke/correct a sister or brother in Christ because God says it’s alright in Galatians 6:1 we just have to be careful or we will be tempted. There is a lot of confusion on what rebuking or correcting someone’s sin is and what judging someone’s sin is. In today’s society when we gently rebuke /correct our sister or brother in Christ we immediately get offended and accuse them of judging as of way of condemning them for caring about your soul and trying to help.  In proverbs 9:8-10 God says “do not rebuke the mockers or they will hate you; rebuke the wise and they will love you. Instruct the wise and they will be wiser still; teach the righteous and they will add to their learning.”  So are you being wise and listening and taking heed to the rebuke/correction from your brother or sister in christ so you can stop committing that sin? 

Now I am not saying that you are dumb or anything if you ignore someone who is trying to correct you not all advice is good advice, especially if the person was not led by God to rebuke/correct you. I’m just saying it would be wise of you to listen instead of getting offended. Truth to be told we tend to get extremely offended when someone is telling us something and we know they are right but we let our PRIDE get in the way and just lash out at them. I mean there has been many times in my life before I really took the time to get out of my own way, and find Jesus and after I found him, there were some times where I refused to listen to anyone else’s rebuke/correction I felt offended and that they were just judging when they should just let God deal with me (Let God judge me). However,  I did let my pride get in the way of what God was leading others to tell me. He was leading them to correct me in my sin, sin that I did not know I was committing.

For example, I use to go and take communion faithfully every 1st Sunday of the month but I was ignorant in what taking communion was all about (However I still faithfully take communion but now with the knowledge and understanding of what it truly means). I was a baby Christian at this time and I was told that I needed to stop taking communion because was still sinning in some areas and didn’t have any intent to changing it. Later I found out from reading God’s word that if you have any problems with anyone before you take communion you need to go and make peace with them first. If they do not want to make peace with you fine you did your part, you forgave them and asked for their forgiveness and you were wholeheartedly sorry for whatever part you played in it. Therefore, you can take communion and leave from the communion table having repented and intend to lead a new life following God’s word and not repeating the sin you just repented for. Anyway the person who tried to rebuke/correct me did so in a very judgmental and rude way. Which is why when correcting/rebuking we need to do it gently and lovingly (Galatians 6:1)  as to not lead others to further stumble in their faith walk; Like what happened to me I mean it was my fault and also partly the rebuke/corrector’s fault. I let my pride get in the way and they failed to correct/rebuke me in a gentle way so that I would have more inclined to listen to them and take what they said to God.

Pride is a nasty thing to have and it hinders us so much on our walk with Christ in so many areas of our lives. Let’s make a goal today to go into deeper prayer not just for ourselves but for friends and family too, to get rid of our pride and start listening to our sister’s and brother’s in Christ when they are rebuking/correcting us. I’ll  leave you all with this thought, have you ever thought that may God is leading that sister or brother in Christ  to rebuke/correct when you are committing a sin you know you shouldn’t  be committing? Think about it, pray about it and listen to what God has to say ultimately. You never know when he is sending someone to help you on his behalf he talks to us in different ways.

#blogging101

Above picture was found on google images: https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/236x/cc/3b/0e/cc3b0e2830aa59f314d852702826c8c9.jpg

Leave a Reply

