Teach Them While They Are Young

Unknown

“Start Children off on the way they should go, and even when they are old they will not turn from it.”-Proverbs 22:6

I personally try to follow this and i admit i’m not the perfect example all the time for my 2 year old daughter yet thank God I’m not where i use to be.  I was blessed the other day while i was studying for my last final exam for the semester. I played the Walls group latest album and the song on there called High ft. Lecrae came on and my daughter started to along. I know you are probably wondering how is that a blessing but it really is one. Think about it a lot of children nowadays their first words are cuss words and the types of words they are singing along with are these secular songs these young parents and older parents listen to.

I am about to be 23 years old and yes i use to  listen to secular music which i recently gave up. Even when i was listening to songs like beyonce and Tamar Braxton, Toni Braxton etc i still listened and played lots of Gospel music. Anyway the walls group latest album i played constantly  when it first came out because it is just a great album. However, by me praising the Lord and having my daughter around music that praises God is starting her on her way.

Now, just listening to gospel music is not all you need to do to raise your child in the way that they should go but it is a start. I am working on doing more listen to gospel music around her. There is a Christian curriculum that focuses on teaching young  children about God with the Lord’s  help i plan to raise her like he says in Proverbs 22:6.

I wrote this to give some encouragement  to those who may be doing lots of sinful things i while their children are young and think they don’t  pick up on it. But, my sister or brother they do even if they are 2 years old or 1. You will always be the example that they are not just listening to but watching. Be the example of who you want them to grow up to be. Those who are raising them in the way they should go but are unsure sometimes if it’s taking affect don’t fret keep being the best example you can be God will lead you.

God bless you.

#Christianity #religion

image is from google images

© 2014 Jasmine Samilton

Leave a Reply

